A Sunrise Quiet Time

While at New Staff Training with Great Commission ministries two weeks ago, God taught me a lot about who I am as an introvert. I thought that I was fine with who I was until that training when I realized that I over-exhausted myself because I felt pressured to socialize with my fellow classmates to prove that I love people. This led to one embarrassing emotional breakdown in front of a trainer who was essentially “grading” me at the time.

What I learned: It’s okay to take time away for myself to re-energize, especially when my job will require me to be around many people quit often.

My resolution: To have an extended quiet time with God at least once a week.

One of the best ways that I experience God is through nature, through His beautiful creations, so I decided to catch the sunrise! I was quite proud of myself as I used my compass to determine where east was in correlation to my home. I’d been to this park many times, but I never knew this quaint area existed. I think it’ll be my new favorite quick, get-away spot.

I meditated on Psalm 104, where David praises God for His awesome creation, for His power, for His beauty. It was the best time with the Lord I had in a while. I worshipped Him for a while, and it stirred up an excitement for me to see Him face to face and bow wholly in His wonderful presence. And… I was refreshed for the whole rest of the day!

“Let all that I am praise the Lord. O Lord my God, how great you are! You are robed with honor and majesty. You are dressed in a robe of light. You stretch out the starry curtain of the heavens; you lay out the rafters of your home in the rain clouds. You make the clouds your chariot; you ride upon the wings of the wind.” -Psalm 104:1-3, NLT

–Raegan

Leave a comment